When I first met him

I thought I was a princess

I was Snow White

and he was Prince Charming

He thundered up in that piece of shit Honda

like a knight on his white horse

I didn’t know any better

so I hopped in

laughing and ready for anything

After the first year

I thought that I must be the Prince

and He was the princess

in need of saving

He rained down on me in violent floods

of insecurity

People said

you should  get out of that

you’re no good for each other

and years passed

and they said more and I said

BUT!

Our bodies have intertwined

and our legs have dangled

off swings in sunlight

that cut through the color of our eyes

so we could see the others soul…

I realized then

that I was right in the beginning

I was a princess

I was Snow White

but he wasn’t my Prince

all along

He was the apple.

 

 

Leave a Reply

